Guwahati, Wednesday, August 27, 2014
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
BJP candidates for Silchar, Lakhipur by-polls
 SILCHAR, Aug 26 – Despite losing the Silchar seat in the recently held Lok Sabha election, the Cachar district unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party is confident of winning the Assembly by-polls for the Silchar and Lakhipur constituencies, scheduled to be held on September 13.

The BJP district unit today announced the names of Dilip Paul and Sanjay Thakur for the two Assembly seats. Asked about the party’s preparations, Sudhandhu Mittal, State BJP observer, said that the by-polls would be a contest between a party of hope and a party of despair.

Taking a dig at Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi, Mittal said that Gogoi has miserably failed to provide even the minimum security to the people of the State. “The Chief Minister has brought the administration of the State into a standstill. These by-elections will be a challenge between a united party and a party devastated and dejected,” Mittal added.

The State BJP observer maintained that while the Congress would rely on the D-voter issue, the BJP would focus on the failures of the State Government.

Former MP and party veteran Kabindra Purkayastha was confident of the party’s win as the people wanted a change and would vote for the BJP to lead them on to the path of development. Rajdip Roy, State BJP spokesman, said that party cadres and members were united. The BJP candidates will file their nomination papers on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Congress candidates Arun Dutta Mazumdar and Rajdeep Goala filed their nomination papers for the two Assembly seats along with candidates from other political parties on Tuesday. As many as eight candidates, including one Independent, have submitted their nomination papers so far.

Dutta Mazumdar, who has been discharging his duties as the president of the Silchar District Congress Committee, said that the fight would be with the BJP. He claimed that Modi was never a factor in Silchar.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »