Guwahati, Saturday, April 27, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Female voter turnout encouraging during third phase of Lok Sabha polls
 GUWAHATI, April 26 - The turnout among female voters was higher than that of their male counterparts in as many as ten out of the total 40 Legislative Assembly Constituency (LAC) segments in the four Lok Sabha seats of Assam which went to the polls in the third phase.

All the four parliamentary constituencies where voting took place in the third round comprise ten LACs each.

Out of the ten LAC segments comprising the Dhubri Lok Sabha seat, two reported a higher turnout of female voters and eight others witnessed better participation by the male voters on polling day.

In Dhubri Lok Sabha constituency, the turnout of female voters was higher in Bilasipara East and Goalpara East LAC segments.

Of the ten LAC segments in the Kokrajhar Lok Sabha area, three (Bijni, Tamulpur and Chapaguri) reported a higher voter turnout among the female electorate as compared to their male counterparts.

Similarly, among the ten LAC segments under the Barpeta parliamentary constituency, as many as four – Bongaigaon, Abhayapuri North, Abhayapuri South and Jania – registered higher female voter turnout compared to the polling percentage registered for the male electorate.

However, in the high profile Guwahati Lok Sabha seat, only one (Dudhnoi) out of the ten LACs recorded a better turnout among female voters than among males voters.

Altogether, out of the 126 LAC segments of Assam, the polling percentage of women voters was more than that of their male counterparts in 43 segments. It is noteworthy that 18 LAC segments in the Lok Sabha seats which went to the polls in the first phase and 15 in those seats which voted in the second phase of the parliamentary election had also registered higher turnout among female voters.

Overall, taking into account the entire constituency area, the polling percentage of female voters was more than that of males in the Tezpur, Silchar, Autonomous District (Diphu) and Nagaon Lok Sabha seats. In the ten other parliamentary constituencies of the State, the total voter turnout was higher among the male electorate as compared to that of females.

Among the constituencies which went to the polls in the third phase, the overall polling in the Dhubri Lok Sabha seat stood at 90.66 per cent. Of the ten LAC segments comprising the constituency, Jaleswar reported the highest turnout of 93.86 per cent, followed by South Salmara (92.37 per cent), Bilasipara West (91.73 per cent), Golakganj (91.29 per cent), Mankachar (91.22 per cent), Goalpara West (90.52 per cent), Gauripur (89.96 per cent), Bilasipara East (89.19 per cent), Dhubri (89.10 per cent) and Goalpara East (88.44 per cent).

Kokrajhar Lok Sabha constituency reported an overall turnout of 83.16 per cent. Of the ten LAC segments comprising the constituency, the highest polling of 87.72 per cent was reported at Bijni, followed by Kokrajhar West (86.68 per cent), Sorbhog (85.35 per cent), Gossaigaon (84.02 per cent), Bhabanipur (83.77 per cent), Kokrajhar East (82.20 per cent), Sidli (81.60 per cent), Chapaguri (81.38 per cent), Tamulpur (80.33 per cent) and Barama (78.90 per cent).

The final turnout in the Barpeta Lok Sabha seat stood at 86.60 per cent. Of the ten LAC segments in the constituency, the maximum polling of 91.06 per cent took place at Baghbar, followed by Abhayapuri South (89.49 per cent), Abhayapuri North (88.84 per cent), Chenga (88.49 per cent), Barpeta (88.26 per cent), Jania (88.24 per cent), Sarukhetri (86.94 per cent), Bongaigaon (85.91 per cent), Dharmapur (79.25 per cent) and Patacharkuchi (76.31 per cent).

Overall polling was 80.81 per cent in the Guwahati Lok Sabha seat. Among the ten LAC segments comprising the constituency, the turnout was highest at Boko with 86.27 per cent polling, followed by Barkhetri (85.86 per cent), Dudhnoi (85.57 per cent), Chaigaon (85.28 per cent), Hajo (83.20 per cent), Jalukbari (81.83 per cent), Palashbari (80.86 per cent), Guwahati West (78.46 per cent), Dispur (75.62 per cent) and Guwahati East (72.93 per cent).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »