Guwahati, Saturday, April 27, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Mumbai Indians beat CSK by 46 runs

 CHENNAI, April 26: Skipper Rohit Sharma hit his maiden half-century of the season as Mumbai Indians produced an all-round effort to register a convincing 46-run win over defending champions Chennai Super Kings in an IPL match here on Friday. MI’s win ended CSK’s winning streak of five games at home this season.

The Rohit-led MI, a three-time champion, came up with an all-round performance to silence the Lions at its own den.

Rohit top-scored with 67 from 48 balls with the help of six fours and three sixes to help MI post 155 for four on a slow and turning Chepauk surface after being sent into bat.

And then MI bowlers led by Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga (4/37) bundled out CSK for 109 in 17.4 overs, the defending champions’ lowest total at home. Besides Malinga, Krunal Pandya (2/7) and Jasprit Bumrah (2/10) did the damage.

By virtue of this win, MI jumped to the second spot in the table with 14 points from 11 games. CSK lead the chart with 16 points from 12 matches.


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma c Vijay b Santner 67, Quinton de Kock c Rayudu b Chahar 15, Evin Lewis c Bravo b Santner 32, Krunal Pandya c Santner b Tahir 1, Hardik Pandya not out 23, Kieron Pollard not out 13. Extras: (lb-1, w-3) 4.

Total: (for 4 wkts in 20 overs) 155.

Fall of wickets: 1-24, 2-99, 3-101, 4-122.

Bowling: Deepak Chahar 4-0-46-1, Harbhajan Singh 4-0-23-0, Imran Tahir 4-0-37-1, Dwayne Bravo 4-0-35-0, Mitchell Santner 4-0-13-2.

Chennai Super Kings: Murali Vijay c Yadav b Bumrah 38, Shane Watson c Chahar b Malinga 8, Suresh Raina c Yadav b Hardik Pandya 2, Ambati Rayudu b Krunal Pandya 0, Kedar Jadhav b Krunal Pandya 6, Dhruv Shorey c Chahar b Roy 5, Dwayne Bravo c & b Malinga 20, Mitchell Santner c Pollard b Malinga 22, Deepak Chahar c Krunal Pandya b Bumrah 0, Harbhajan Singh c Hardik Pandya b Malinga 1, Imran Tahir not out 0. Extras: (lb-1, nb-1, w-5) 7.

Total: (all out in 17.4 overs) 109.

Fall of wickets: 1-9, 2-22, 3-34, 4-45, 5-60, 6-66, 7-99, 8-101, 9-103, 10-109.

Bowling: Lasith Malinga 3.4-0-37-4, Krunal Pandya 3-0-7-2, Hardik Pandya 2-0-22-1, Jasprit Bumrah 3-0-10-2, Rahul Chahar 4-0-21-0, Anukul Roy 2-0-11-1. – PTI

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »