Guwahati, Wednesday, April 26, 2017
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Soma Chakraborty is new DMB chief
Staff Correspondent
 DIBRUGARH, April 25 - Soma Chakraborty, Ward Commissioner from Ward No. 8 here was elevated to the post of the Chairman of the Dibrugarh Municipal Board (DMB) on Monday after incumbent Anuradha Dey was removed from the post on April 18 following no-trust motion against her by 15 ward commissioners.

 Soma Chakraborty was the choice of the BJP party for the post, Ujjal Kashyap, general secretary, district BJP said. Some 15 BJP ward commissioners endorsed her candidature after which she took over the reigns of the civic body. She took charge at a brief function in the presence of Additional Deputy Commissioner Ankur Bharali and Executive Magistrate Dipu Deka, besides local MP Rameshwar Teli. Vice Chairperson Jogananda Sensowa, the officiating chairperson, administered the oath of office to Chakraborty.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »