Guwahati, Thursday, April 18, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
All set for poll to Inner Manipur LS seat

Women polling personnel along with police leaving district headquarters for their respective polling stations in Manipur on Wednesday. – Photo: Correspondent
 IMPHAL, April 17 - All is set for polling for the Inner Manipur Parliamentary constituency on Thursday. There are 1,300 polling stations under 32 Assembly constituencies in four valley districts under the Inner seat in the second phase of the elections tomorrow. The first phase for Outer Manipur seat was held on April 11.

The polling parties along with the election materials including the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) have left for their polling stations on Wednesday from their respective district headquarters.

To encourage and celebrate the festival of democracy, key chains and badges will be given to the first 50 voters and first time voters at every polling station. Provisions have also been made for the lactating mothers with special rooms and special facilities for the senior citizens.

Chief Electoral Officer PK Singh informed the media that Block Level Officers will be provided an amount of Rs 1,000 each to provide potable drinking water at the polling stations.

Five vehicles along with wheel chairs have been placed in each polling station to ensure pick up and drop facility for the people who are visually impaired and with locomotive disabilities.

There are a total of 11 candidates contesting for the Inner Manipur seat. Prominent among the candidates are Dr RK Ranjan (BJP), O Nabakishore (Cong), Dr M Nara (CPI), and O Jugindro (Manipur People’s Party).

There are 9,28,626 electors in the constituency including 4,47,843 males and 4,80,751 females. Forty companies of Central Armed Police Force and State police force have been deployed in the second phase of election.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »