Guwahati, Sunday, April 14, 2019
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
AASU to felicitate eminent persons from various fields today
Staff Reporter
 GUWAHATI, April 13 - The All Assam Students’ Union and the All Guwahati Students’ Union will honour a number of eminent persons who brought laurels to the State in the last one year, during its special annual Bihu celebration ‘Mukoli Bihu’ at the Judges’ Field here tomorrow.

The family members of music maestro Dr Bhupen Hazarika, who was recently awarded India’s highest civilian honour Bharat Ratna posthumously, will be felicitated during the event.

Padma Shri award winner Dr Ilias Ali and Uddhab Bharali, Sangeet Natak Akademi award winner Jagannat Bayan, Nuruddin Ahmed, Ramkrishna Talukdar, Sahitya Akademi award winner Sananta Tanti, Loknath Upadhayay Chapagain, Rituraj Basumatary, Nabin Brahma, Partha Pratim Hazarika, Jugal Lochan Das, Sitaram Basumatary, Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar winner Purna Brahma, Bipasa Bora and Arjuna award winner and ace sprinter Hima Das will also be feted on the occasion.

AASU chief advisor Dr Samujjal Kumar Bhattacharyya will felicitate the achievers during the event that will start from 10.15 am onwards.

Eminent artiste Kula Barua will hoist the Bihu flag and AASU president Dipanka Kumar Nath will hoist the AASU flag on the occasion. AASU general secretary Lurin Jyoti Gogoi will initiate Swahid Tarpan.

A number of folk programmes have also been lined up for the event that includes Bodo Nritya from Kokrajhar, Suknani Ojapali from Darrang and Bihu Husori by a number of renowned groups of the State.

A special programme will also be held as a tribute to renowned singer late Dipali Borthakur.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »