Guwahati, Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
7 candidates in fray from Morigaon
 MORIGAON, April 4 - As the polling date of Morigaon constituency is drawing closer, candidates from different political parties are seen busy in wooing voters in every nook and corner of the constituency. As many as seven candidates are in fray in the Morigaon constituency. They are – Rama Kanta Deori (BJP-AGP-Tiwa Manch), Jon Jonali Boruah (Congress), Munin Mahanta (CPI), Ramen Nath (Ind), Dr Dhiren Nath (Ind), Lachit Medhi (Ind) and Khairun Nessa (RJD).

Morigaon constituency has 1, 59,766 voters which was the stronghold of the Congress party for the last 15 years. Jon Jonali Boruah of the Congress won the Morigaon seat for three consecutive terms since 2001. But this time, she is facing a tough challenge from the BJP-alliance candidate Rama Kanta Deori. Apart from the anti-incumbency wave, Boruah is facing trouble from those workers of the Congress who left the party and joined the BJP recently. Prominent among them are senior Congress workers who the joined the BJP like Jogram Das and Laba Kanta Boruah. They are now openly campaigning for Rama Kanta Deori.

Among the total voters, the percentage of Hindu voters in the constituency is 57 per cent while there are 43 per cent Muslim voters. Meanwhile, polarisation among the voters on religious grounds is quite evident this time. The Scheduled Tribe voters, numbering around 36,000 in the constituency, always play a vital role in the final outcome in Morigaon constituency. This time the majority of them may go to Rama Kanta Deori’s fold. A major part of Assamese Muslim voters are also seen in Rama Kanta’s campaign.

Veteran CPI leader, Munin Mahanta, a two-time MLA from Morigaon, will also be able to attract the major portion of religious minority votes in the constituency. As such, the division of Muslim votes may send a danger signal to Jon Jonali Boruah. The two Independent candidates, namely Ramen Nath and Dr Dhiren Nath may create confusion among the Nath Yogi community voters. However, the two are contesting as Independents after being denied tickets from the BJP. A greenhorn, Kharun Nessa from the Rashtriya Janata Dal is not a known face in Morigaon constituency.

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »