Guwahati, Tuesday, April 5, 2016
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Navarang lift Servo trophy
Sports Reporter
 GUWAHATI, April 4 - Navarang Club clinched the title in the Servo 23rd Guwahati Challenge Trophy Cricket Championship. In the final played at the Judges’ Field here today, Navarang outwitted host River Rine Club by 48 runs. In reply to Navarang’s mammoth 201 for five in 20 overs, River Rine managed to score 153 for nine.

Man-of-the-Match and Man-of-the-Series Abhijit Singha Roy was the top scorer for the champion team with 39-ball 90. Earlier, in the thrilling second semifinal, River Rine edged past Santipur Athletic Club by one run. Chasing River Rine’s 123, Santipur were restricted to 122. The winning team was awarded the Balabhadra Oja Memorial Trophy with cash of Rs 15,000 while the runners-up team received the Bhabendra Ch Pathak Memorial Trophy and a cash award of Rs 10,000.

Individual award winners are: Man-of-the-Match and Man of the Series-Abhijit Singha Roy (Navarang), Best Batsman-Rahul Hazarika (City CC), Best Bowler-Bikash Chetry (Navarang).

Brief scores (S/F): River Rine 123 (Amit Yadav 29, Navajit Kaushik 27, Jay Singh 21; Bikash Singh 4/27, Saahil Jain 2/19). Santipur 122/9 (Bikash Singh 24, Erik Roy 24, Amzad Ali 20).

(Final) Navarang 201/5 (Abhijit Singha Roy 90, Ranjeet Changmai 53, Pallav Kr Das 29; Raj Hussain 2/3).River Rine 153/9 (Raj Hussain 32, Navajit Kaushik 25; Abir Chakraborty 3/18, Bikash Chetry 2/29, Abhijit Singha Roy 2/31).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »