Guwahati, Tuesday, April 1, 2014
Today's EditionMain Weather Backissues Epaper Dainik Asam Videos Contact Us
Nagaon take lead against Dibrugarh
Sports reporter
 GUWAHATI, March 31 – Nagaon took a 103-run first innings lead against Dibrugarh in the semifinal round robin league match of the Nuruddin Trophy Elite Group Senior Inter District Cricket Tournament.

On the opening day of the three-day match at the Nehru Stadium here today, Dibrugarh were bundled out for 94 in 29.5 overs after electing to bat first.

On the spin-friendly track, offie Bichitra Baruah removed six Dibrugarh wickets for 27 while Ashok Saini took four. Jyotiraditya Chetia was the only notable contributor with 32 while others failed miserably.

In reply, Nagaon scored 197. Eshan Ravi was the top scorer with 56 while Raj Borah added 39. Deepak Gohain and Dipu Chetri shared five wickets each for Dibrugarh.

Charaideo score 183: At the Barsapara stadium, Charaideo scored 183 in their first innings against Guwahati. At stumps, Guwahati were 25 for one. Harmeet Singh (37), Asif Ahmed (33), Imdadul Saikia (32) and Manashjyoti Gogoi (29) had some touch with their bats as left arm Guwahati spinner Yadavendra Singh came out with a five-wicket haul.

Brief scores: Dibrugarh 1st Innings: 94 (Jyotiraditya Chetia 32, Dipok Singh 16, Bastab Hazarika 14, Bichitra Baruah 6/27, Ashok Saini 4/32).

Nagaon 1st Innings: 197 (Eshaan Ravi 56 (146B, 4x5, 6x1), Raj Borah 39, Hokaito Zhimomi 25, Dhiraj Goswami 23, Deepak Gohain 5/73, Dipu Chetry 5/73).

Dibrugarh 2nd Innings: 5 for no loss 00.

Charaideo 1st Innings: 183 (Harmeet Singh 37, Asif Ahmed 33, Imdadul Saikia 32, Manashjyoti Gogoi 29, Yadavendra Singh 5/36, Sunzow Brahma 2/18).

Guwahati 1st Innings: 25/1 (Rahul Hazarika 13 n.o).

City »
State »
Other Headlines »
Sports »